Injury and recovery for TR24

(I’m writing this in September so I’m trying to remember back to July.)

So after The Isle of Wight my right Achilles was visibly swollen and hurt if I wore any shoes that were tight on it.

I went to see my default physio, and he suggested it was Achilles Tendinopathy. Knowing I had TR24 in 4 weeks meant we needed a treatment plan that allowed me to do that as long as I didn’t cause lasting damage.

Plan consisted of localised treatment, minimal running to keep me fit and trainers that didn’t hurt!

Localised treatment was easy, my physio worked the area once or twice. I also Ktaped the area on a few runs.

Minimal running for 4 weeks, as agreed with my coach, looked like (miles);

week Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
1 0 0 0 2.8 0 0 0
2 6 6.1 5 0 0 6.2 0
3 4.9 9.5 5.2 0 0 11.9 0
4 3.6 5.5 0 0 0 race race

Trainers that didn’t hurt was harder. I dug out my old Brooks Cascadia, they didn’t hurt at all but I felt that they were very hard under foot, probably as they’d done a fair amount of mileage through general walking and gym work, so they wouldn’t last for 24 hours of off road running. My preferred trainers are always Hoka’s, but I felt they had helped cause the problem. The solution, with a suggestion from the physio, was doctoring my Hoka’s so they didn’t hurt when I wore them! And, you know what it worked. Happy feet.

IMG_4480 (2) IMG_4479 (2)

Bring on TR24!


One thought on “Injury and recovery for TR24

Leave a comment